tired

sometimes i feel exhaustion in others

where i should not feel it

asking for a favor, playing the piano

fixing a bowl of soup

my neck is stiff

with the headaches of others

i let the steam in my shower float up and slip through my fingers

people get mad at me

for getting tired so quickly

saying no, no, i physically can’t do that because

don’t you see what i do?

my black sheep is a blessing and a curse

my wool weighs heavy on me

but shows off brilliant, glossy midnight locks

that are tempting to run small fingers through

i haven’t learned complete exhaustion yet but

i feel i am close to it every day

just barely keeping up with the flock

sweating, watching hooves totter forwards

with the ease i wish i had

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑