comfort

“red sky at night, sailor’s delight,

red sky at morning, sailors take warning”

i felt myself

coasting

so close i could reach down and touch the road

with my fingertips

looking back with strained throat

seeing the dull sky coated with gray ash

making my chest clogged with wet fumes

remembering the morning

that, after my initial grogginess,

i saw sweet candy beauty through my sleep-hazed state

i encounter a whole world through

just one window

the ever changing weather is just

chapters in a book

the pink skies were just a warning

of what was going to happen

coming home and looking

for my love

but knowing

i will never see

an identical sunrise like the one i saw today

again

suckling on the hard sugar

to dissolve

on my tongue

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

